What are the benefits?
American Society for Quality
Merrimack Valley Sec. 0102
PO Box 275
North Andover,  MA 01845-0275

The Pizar Award

Get Connected

Joint ASQMV / Granite State
Dinner Meeting

WEDNESDAY,February 5, 2020

Diversity:  Good or Bad for Organizations?
Speaker:  James T. McKim, Jr., PMP, ITIL / Organizational Ignition

You will learn:
the standard definition of diversity
- why inclusion is also important
- what the research says about diversity &
Event Location:
California Room
290 Derry Road
Hudson, NH 03051

Welcome to Our New Geographic Community!

It is hard to believe that another year has passed and we are already starting 2019. Happy New Year! Some of you may have noticed that change is afoot at the American Society for Quality. Things we took for granted have changed. You used to be able to take a certification exam sponsored by the local section. Now you go to test center where you have to follow their rules to take the test. You used to be able to send your recertification manual to Charlie Muzzey who would review it and send it along its way to ASQ for approval. Now as of January 2019, the only way to renew your certification is online through the ASQ website. Even our Section 102 ASQMV is now no longer a section but instead now a geographic community.

Some of you may ask why the changes? ASQ is keeping up with the times. People are busy and do more of their communication on line. ASQ is also trying to provide a more uniform resource to their members irrespective of their location. If you take some time and login to you will find that they have even built a new website which will eventually replace . ASQ is going through a transformation to support its identification as the “Global Voice of Quality”. “ASQ provides the quality communities with training, professional certifications and knowledge/quality resources to their network of members in the global quality community. Their vision is that by making quality a global priority, an organizational imperative, and a personal ethic that ASQ becomes the community for everyone who seeks quality concepts, technology, or tools to improve themselves and their world. ASQ’s mission is to increase the use and impact of quality in response to the diverse needs of the world.”1. 

So enough about change. Even though change is happening in the background ASQ has also committed
to keeping our sections as newly named geographic communities. The Section Leadership Team at
Merrimack Valley is committed to keeping the look and feel of our monthly meetings aligned with
membership expectations. We offer an opportunity for networking and presentation of current quality
topics that are of interest to our members. We will also continue to offer education courses to support
members seeking certifications. We also hope to provide support for our members as together we go
through the transformation of ASQ.

1 Information quoted from ASQ website

The Pizar award is named for John Pizar, an active leadership team member of  the ASQ Merrimack Valley Section for over 40 years. Click here for details and recipients.

Certified Quality Engineer Preparation / Review Course

Wednesdays 5:30pm - 8:30pm 

9/11/2019 - 11/13/2019

Class size is limited! Click below for details.

CMQ/OE  Preparation Review Course

Mondays 5:30pm - 8:00pm 

9/09/2019 - 10/21/2019

Note: Registration closes August 26, 2019